DailyHum Logo
United States will bar travelers from 8 countries in southern Africa.
Nov 26, 2021 | The NY Times
Picture - United States will bar travelers from 8 countries in southern Africa.

President Biden will restrict travel from South Africa and seven other African countries to try to contain a troubling new variant of the coronavirus, senior administration officials said on Friday, though they said it would be impossible to prevent it from entering the United States.

Starting on Monday, the administration will prohibit travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi from coming to the United States, the officials said.

The travel ban will not apply to American citizens or lawful permanent residents, officials said. But they will need to show a negative coronavirus test before coming to the United States.

Mr. Biden made the decision after he was briefed by advisers including Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, who said in an interview Friday that the variant appeared to be spreading rapidly and that he and other health officials in the United States were consulting with South African scientists. The White House announced the decision after the World Health Organization said the new variant, labeled Omicron, was “of concern.”

10 hours ago | The NY Times
When Dementia Strikes at an Early Age
Sustainable safaris in South Luangwa
3 hours ago | A Luxury Travel Blog